Nestled away in the heart of the Welsh countryside, Llangoed Hall offers the perfect blend of classic country charm complemented by luxurious modern amenities.
Whether it’s an exclusive private dining experience, a fairytale wedding, afternoon tea in front of the fire, or a stay in one of their classic suites complete with a magnificent four poster bed, Llangoed Hall is ready to welcome you for an unforgettable experience.
Weddings at Llanhoed Hall Hotel
Classic charm and a stunning setting in the Welsh countryside make Llangoed Hall the ultimate venue to celebrate a wedding or special occasion.
From beautiful gardens, stunning culinary menus, and 23 uniquely styled bedrooms, a wedding at Llangoed Hall will offer memories to last a lifetime.
JAM Duo had the privilege of playing for Jason and Mara’s wedding which was in Llangoed Hall in December 2021.
Llangoed Hall historical country house is the perfect place for a fairytale wedding in the heart of the beautiful Welsh countryside.
From drinks on the Terrace to a spectacular wedding breakfast in the Orangery, Llangoed Hall offers stunning and unique spaces for your wedding and reception.
With 23 uniquely decorated bedrooms and suites, the Llangoed Hall offers exclusive use to accommodate your entire wedding party.
A Brief History of the Hotel
Formerly known as Llangoed Castle, the hall is set in 17 acres of garden and parkland in the valley of the River Wye, nine miles west of the picturesque town of Hay-on-Wye. According to the late Sir Clough William Ellis, the celebrated Welsh Architect, there appears to have been a house on this site since 500 AD. It is said that the First Welsh Parliament was also held here.
Subsequently the building became for several centuries an episcopal grange, only to be largely rebuilt in 1632 by Sir Henry Williams in the classic Jacobean Manor House style. Sir Henry’s Coat of Arms can still be seen over the south porch.
During regency times, the Williams family lost the property to a John McNamara in a gambling bout. In 1847, it was bought by John Bailey and by 1900 formed part of the great estate of Lord Glanusk. Soon afterwards, it was acquired by Mrs. Archibald Christy, the wife of the prominent London hatter. It was Mrs. Christy who commissioned Clough William Ellis to restore and largely redesign the house. The present building was completed in 1919, although parts of the south facing wing including the panelled library dating from 1632 were incorporated.
In 2012, the Interesting Hotels Group purchased the estate after it had fallen into administration under the Von Esson Group.
In September 2013 – less than a year out of administration & having undergone a Multimillion pound refurb the hotel was awarded Hotel of the Year 2014 from the AA of Great Britain and Ireland and by November 2013 it was Conde Nast Johanans Restaurant of the Year 2014. 2015 saw our first ever entry into Good Food Guide – Top 50 in the UK where we still are to this day. In 2016/2017 we were Conde Nast Johansens’ Eco Hotel of the Year.
Llangoed Hall Hotel, Llyswen, Brecon LD3 0YP